Student Media: General Election Coverage

This article for SCAN is one I am particularly proud of. I arranged four interviews with all four of the candidates running in the Lancaster and Fleetwood constituency in the 2017 General Election.

I got the chance to ask the candidates some tough questions. I asked the Labour candidate if Jeremy Corbyn was putting voters off. I asked the Liberal Democrat candidate what he thought the worst parts of the coalition were. I asked the Conservative candidate why the Tories weren’t popular with young people. I asked the Green candidate if her candidacy was splitting the left in such a crucial election.

In the end, I published a selection of their comments without the questions as I felt this would have the biggest impact. Being a Students’ Union newspaper there was a lot to contend with: Charity Law meant that any bias was unacceptable. This applied to technicalities – like the order of the candidates (alphabetical by surname) and weighting of the interviews. My interviews were published with virtually no editing.

On election night, I was one of the first to break the news that Cat Smith had won the Lancaster and Fleetwood constituency. I had articles prepared for all the likely outcomes, and when a Labour victory was apparent I posted the article within minutes. It went down well on social media – receiving nearly 300 likes and shares.

I was also liveblogging at intervals throughout the night, and appeared as a guest on Lancaster’s student television station in the early hours – discussing the latest happenings.

Screenshot 2017-06-17 at 00.26.30
Finding out, live on air, that Nick Clegg has lost his seat and trying to stay nonchalant. 

 

Screenshot 2017-06-17 at 00.22.55
Discussing “personality politics”.
Leave a Reply

